Contact Us

Huerfano scores big at Science Fair

by Carol Dunn

LA JUNTA– Huerfano students received numerous awards at the 2010 Arkansas Valley Regional Science Fair, held February 20 at Otero Jr. College in La Junta.

    Coached by Jan Cisneros and Kevin Crosson, Gardner students picked up the following awards for their individual projects: Ann Rowland, 1st place, the certificate for outstanding project, and qualification for the State science fair;  Carissa Canardas and Tanner Ragan, 1st place; Wyatt Williams, 2nd place and qualification for the International Engineering Science Program in Houston, TX;  Paige Butler, Olivia Cordova, Santana Trujillo, Frank Pizzo, Kaitlyn Archuleta, Will Rowland and Rebecca Archuleta, 2nd place;  Tyler Meyeres, Liz Moore and Hanna Kleinschmidt, 3rd place.

    Risa Byall took five students to the event from Peakview School, and four of them received awards for their individual projects: Alyssa Sandoval and Andrew Vigil both were awarded 1st place and qualified for the State science fair; Destry Crockett received 1st place; and Reece Quintana received 3rd place.

    Coached by Mrs. Pat Keeling, the La Veta team won a variety of awards.  Casey Campbell received the US Army Special Award, 1st place individual project award, the Stockholm Junior Water Prize, and the Director’s trophy.  Campbell’s project studied remediation of saline water from coal bed methane extraction.  Campbell and Devon Enke both received 2010 International Sustainable World Project Awards and qualified for the State competition.  Enke also received the US Navy Special Award, Outstanding Project in the junior division, and 1st place individual project award.

    First place team project award went to Brenna Ray & Carlos Nunez.  They also received the US Air Force Special Award and qualified for the State competition.  First-place awards for individual projects were given to: Isabella Day, Jackie Watson, Killian Reese and Tanner Shrout, who also qualified for the State competition.  Second-place teams included Steven Garcia & Tanner Sporcich; and Cassie Blue & Kalin Palmer.  Second-place individual project awards were presented to: Tannis Everett, Andrew Montez and Max Moll.  Stephaney Sardello & Maricella Martinez received a 3rd place team project award.

    For her artwork, Sofia Schneider won the Science Fair poster contest and $10.

Dread Persephone

Part of the What Do You Kow About That series by Ruth Orr GREECE — As is so often the case with this column, anything

Read More »


OUR WORLD — For the third straight year, the World Journal has been named the best newspaper in its class in the 2023 Colorado Press

Read More »