Contact Us

Redskins honored at Athletic Banquet

Retiring Athletic Director, Coach, and Teacher Don Price honored

LA VETA- On Tuesday night, the La Veta Redskin sports program acknowledged their athletes with letters and certificates of participation for their dedication to making the Redskin sports programs successful in the 2009-2010 season.

     At the ceremony, the school also honored  Don Price for his years of service with a slide show showing his dedication.  Price celebrated his 32nd year as a coach at La Veta and also at Adams State College, where he was a student-coach from 1977-1981.  He was head football coach 27 years, taking his team to the state playoffs fourteen of those years.  He coached basketball for 25 years, track for 26, and served as the school’s Athletic Director 18 years.  Outside of the school setting, Price served as a member of the Colorado High School Activities Association for 18 years and was Fishers Peak League President for the past decade.  Price has also coached many junior aged sports.  Coach Price will be sorely missed.

    Tuesday was primarily an evening to honor the students who excelled in athletics.  They were presented with their Letter Pins and Certificates of Participation for the season.  The dedication these young men and women have to their sport and school was demonstrated by the number of multi-sport athletes honored.

    In the men′s programs, the following senior athletes received their letter(s).  Dalton Mason lettered in golf, football, basketball and baseball.  Dakota Mason lettered in golf, football, basketball and baseball.  Dakota was also named to the Southern Peaks All-conference first team in basketball.  Ron Ortivez received his letters for golf, football, wrestling and baseball.  Trey Price was honored for football, basketball and baseball.  Price also made Fishers Peak all-conference first team.  Sean Sanchez lettered in basketball and baseball, Jesse Pacheco in football and baseball, Brandon Ivy, football and Devon Jenson in football.

    Others received their letters for football:  Jon Brunelli, Adam Ortivez, Brandon Morgan, Caleb Bird, Jared Ray, Brandon Ivy, Clancy Kreutzer, Adam Kimbrel, Logan Williams, and Matt Hammernik.  Participation certificates were given to eight others: Kyon Kreutzer, Dylan Sporcich, Zac Brunelli, Dalton Williams, Braxton Morgan, Steven Blessman, Eric Griego and Tyler Duzenack.  Jon Brunelli, a Junior, received letters for golf, football, basketball and baseball.  Brunelli was also recognized as All-Conference, Fishers Peak League first team for basketball.

    Golf Letters were awarded to Zane Sternberg, Clinton Smith and Adam Ortivez.  Participation certificates were given to Evan Arnold, Theo Wahl, Zac Brunelli, Jon Sanchez, Dylan Sporcich and Casey Campbell.

    Basketball letters were handed out to Josiah Christian and Clancy Kreutzer.  Participation certificates were awarded to the following: Matt Hammernik, Adam Kimbrel, Evan Arnold, Brandon Morgan, Braxton Morgan, Bradley Vigil, James Gonzales, Kyon Kreutzer, Zac Brunelli, Dylan Sporcich, Steven Blessman, Tyler Duzenack, Casey Campbell and Jonathan Sanchez.

    Wrestling letters were presented to Michael Channel, Adam Ortivez, Eric Griego, Caleb Bird, Logan Williams and Elliott Blessman.  Participation certificates were given to Dustin Middlemist, Jesse Bird and W.D. Arnold as manager.

    Baseball letters were also handed out to Jarred Ray, Clancy Kreutzer and Jean Arnold.  Participation Certificates were given to Jon Sanchez, Kyon Kreutzer, Dalton Williams, Braxton Morgan, Zac Brunelli, Evan Arnold, Derek Andreas, Adam Kimbrel, Stephen Blessman, Casey Campbell and Tyler Duzenack.

    The Lady′s teams were honored with recognition for their outstanding efforts.  Senior class members lettering included Shelby Morgan for volleyball and basketball.  Morgan also received recognition for being named to both the Southern and Fisher Peaks All-Conference first team for volleyball and the Most Valuable Player for the Southern Peaks League in basketball and All-Conference 1st team for Fisher Peaks.  Jennifer Miller received her letters in basketball and volleyball.  Miller was also named to the Fisher Peaks All-Conference team.

    Other Lady Redskins earned their letter for volleyball:  Betsy Trenckmann, Christina Koutnik, Cara Campbell, Jacey Day, Samantha McCay, Sami Willhoite and Shelby Baker.  Receiving their participation certificates were Shelby Baker, Camrey Teague, Isabel Martinez, Gina Schneider, Hannah Everett, Amanda White and Haley Hake.

    Those receiving basketball letters included the following:  Shelbi Kelly, Sami Willhoite, Christina Koutnik, Cara Campbell, Jacey Day and Ashton Rinker.  Participation certificates were handed out to Samantha McCay, Hannah Everett, Karley Corsentino, Isabel Martinez, Ariel Corral, Gina Schneider, Madi Bustos, Haley Kake  and Ali Baker.

    The final awards for the Lady Skins were given to the cheerleading squad, who stirred the home crowds into a frenzy by their efforts.  They all received their letters.  The spirit squad seniors are Ariel Jameson, Dani Brown and Haley Everett.  The juniors are Betsy Trenckmann, Akira Vaughan and Whitney Blair.  The sophomores are Isabel Martinez and Shelby Baker and finally the freshman member is Hannah Everett.

    Letters were also given out to the track team, most of whom also lettered in other sports listed above.  If we missed listing anybody, please let us know, and we apologize for the error.