Contact Us

Mickey Schmidt is elected La Veta Mayor

by Brian Orr

LA VETA- Mickey Schmidt, the current mayor of La Veta, who inherited his seat when Mayor Glen de St. Jean abruptly resigned in 2006, was elected mayor on Tuesday.  Schmidt received 209 votes, and his rival Sid Popejoy, received 67 votes.

    Five Town trustees were also up for election- all running unopposed.  They were: Dawn Blanken, who received 204 votes; Don Keairns, who got 202 votes; James Fowler, who received 201 votes; Jesse Yarbrough with 178 votes and Tracy Webb, with 172 votes. 

    The three highest vote-getters will serve four year terms, and the other two will serve for two year terms.

    “The Board decided to stagger the terms to keep continuity,” said Schmidt.  “That way we won’t get an entirely new Board sometime in the future.”

    Schmidt has served served on the Town Board for 27 years, and has acted as Mayor three times in the past. This is the first time however, Schmidt has been elected to the mayor’s seat. 

    Schmidt and the returning Trustees were sworn into their positions on Wednesday night at a delayed Town Board meeting.  “I’m glad we are moving forward,” Schmidt said.