Publications

Contact Us

Local Government

Local Government

County Government

    County Commissioners

    Meet every Wednesday, 10 am at Huerfano County Courthouse,

    401 Main Street, Suite 201, Walsenburg. 

    (719) 738-2370     Fax: (719) 738-3996   

    www.huerfano.us

    Commissioners: Art Bobian, Roger Cain, Scott King

    County Administrator

     John Galusha  (719) 738-3485   john@huerfano.us

    Assessor

     Louise Sandoval, (719) 738-1191, assessor@huerfano.us

    Clerk and Recorder

    Judy Benine, (719) 738-2380,  judy@huerfano.us

    Coroner

     Della Duran, (719) 738-2725

    Treasurer

    Debra Reynolds, (719 738-1280, cotreas@huerfano.us

    GIS Director/IT Manager/Emergency Manager

    Diego Bobian, (719) 738-1537, dbobian@huerfano.us

    Road and Bridge Administrator

    Melanie Bounds, (719) 738-3053, mbounds@huerfano.us

Walsenburg Government

     Walsenburg City Council

    Meets first and third Tuesdays of each month, 6 pm, at Walsenburg City Hall,

    525 S. Albert Ave., Walsenburg

    (719) 738-1048   

    www.cityofwalsenburg.com

    Mayor Bruce Quintana

    Councilpersons:  Jim Moore; Silvana Lind; James England, Mayor Pro-Tem;

    Rick Jennings; Erin Jerant; David Mockmore; Craig Lessar; Nick Vigil

La Veta Government

    La Veta Town Board

    Meets first and third Tuesdays of each month, 7 pm, at the

    La Veta Community Center on East Ryus Avenue, La Veta.

    PO Box 174, La Veta

    (719) 742-3631   Fax:  (719) 742-5420

    www.townoflaveta-co.gov

Council of Governments

    South Central Council of Governments

    Works with locakl entities in Huerfano and Las Animas counties in offering

    grant assistance, senior services and community need programs

    928 Russell Ave. Walsenburg

    (719) 738-2205          fax:  (719) 738-6898

    RIDELINE: (719) 738-1182

    www.sccog.net      also see page 52

Business Licenses/Special Events Permits

    City of Walsenburg

    City Clerk

    525 S. Albert Ave., Walsenburg

    (719) 738-1048

    Office hours:   M-TH  7am -5:30 pm

Building Inspector/Permits/Contractor Licenses-County

    Office of Planning/Building Inspectors,

    Huerfano County Courthouse, Suite 101

    Steve Channel–Planner/Commercial Building Inspector   

    (719) 738-1220   schannel@huerfano.us